A Lack of Understanding

I’m having an Ecclesiastical kind of morning, with heavy thoughts running through my mind. There’s been one particular thought that’s been on my heart for a while, but I have no idea of what to do about it. So, I’ve decided to share it here. Perhaps one of the blog readers can find use for it, or perhaps in time I’ll receive the understanding I’m searching for.

Here’s the thought: I look around me and notice that in our fast-paced world, in a time of history where we exist with instant access, a wealth of information at our fingertips, technology moving so fast we can’t keep up, and I wonder what could be the true cost – because there’s always a cost for everything. Amid IM’s, Tweets and FB posts, I can see some of the costs are a lack of face to face interaction, discretion, and privacy. So what is the cost for receiving new information in an instant?

I have a feeling it’s a loss of truth, a distortion of history, thereby leaving a generation without a firm foundation, and losing the full power of the new revelations. Because when opposition and tribulation come, and we’re tested in our discoveries, if we don’t have a true foundation, our walls crumble. That doesn’t mean the revelation we received was wrong, only our foundation to which we applied it.

I’m reminds of what George Santayana once said, “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”—Life of Reason, Reason in Common Sense, Scribner’s, 1905, p. 28

The words I keep hearing repeated over and over again in my heart are, “My people perish because of their lack of understanding.”

Understanding what? Our lives are messy, confusing and filled with so much contradiction – what hope do we have to see a clear path? I fear only a small one. I’m reminded of a proverb from Ecclesiastes 2:16 – “For there is no more remembrance of the wise than of the fool forever, since all that now is will be forgotten in the days to come. And how does a wise man die? As the fool!” Forgetting what was – changes what is – and transforms what will be.

We are a society of short memories. We have conditioned ourselves to live in the moment and forget about the lessons learned in the past. I know this to be the truth, because society continually repeats those same mistakes over and again.

It’s not enough to just know the names, places, dates and common quotes of our past, both individually and as a society. We must, if we choose to break the insanity (that’s doing the same thing over and over, yet expecting a different result – per Albert Einstein), learn the reasoning, the intent, and then scrutinize the outcome of our history – building for ourselves a true foundation, so that when we apply our new revelations to something, they won’t crumble during the process of activation.

We’ve become too dependent on other people’s understanding in our ability to Google the answers to our questions, but we don’t take the time to learn the truth for ourselves. I see it everywhere, in every area of life. In church, the congregation depends on the Pastor to study the foundational truths of the faith they claim, but don’t take the time to search it out for themselves in their own study. That’s why when tribulation comes into their lives, their foundations fall and they turn away from their faith all together, seeing fallacy in the faith, instead of themselves. In writers, I see too many artists not even bother to learn the basic skills of editing, paying someone else to do the ‘work’ for them, but when the time comes where they find themselves alone and need to put their pens to paper, they falter – and often never pick up another pen. In the world, our society quickly forgets the sacrifices others have paid to get us where we are, and because of ignorance of that history, quickly give away and squander what millions had fought and given their lives for. We eat what we’re fed, instead of learning to feed ourselves. In the end, because we’ve forgotten what has come before, we die as fools.

Okay, now do you understand why I have no idea what to do with this train of thought? I don’t even want to begin trying to understand what it all means. My head hurts now just trying to get it on this blog post. So, if you didn’t understand it, you’re not alone. I’m so glad I’m about to lose myself into fiction while writing a few pages of my latest fantasy novel. Sometimes reality is just too heavy to deal with. I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have fiction into which to escape. I don’t know how those people who don’t like to read, or who don’t read fiction, function. To me, too much ‘reality’ would be boring and obsessively depressing. I thank God for my healthy imagination.

Till next time,
~T.L. Gray

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

