Love Shall Trickle

Image

You know, they say (though I have no idea who ‘they’ are) that if you love something or someone, and you pour your love into them, that love will come back to you.  That’s not always true.  Well, at least it’s not true in the sense that it comes back to us in the way we hope or think.  We think if we pour our love into someone specific or into a certain situation, we will reap the return love from both.  But, that’s where we mess up.   Let me try to explain.

When we love someone we tend to think the best thing we can do is pour our love into them and they will love us back.  Too many times I hear the following excuse in a break up, “But I loved you, I believed in you, I gave you everything.”  I know.  I’ve done it.  I’ve said those exact words.  Where I messed up was in the actual pouring out what I had into someone else.  In the end… all it left me, was empty.

What I’ve learned is that I need to let the raw love I have for myself, trickle into me, begin to fill me, let it build and then let it run over my banks and cascade out of me like a waterfall.  Those who stand under it or around me will be affected by it… but I don’t need them to fill my banks.  That’s for me to do.

In my trial and errors, failures and mistakes, I’ve learned a valuable lesson… I was pouring myself out to the wrong person.  What I should have been doing is allowing myself to pour into me and from the overflow provide a beautiful waterfall.

I don’t need to be loved.  I want to be loved, adored, wanted and desired, everyone does.  But, I’m beginning to see what I need most… is for people to enjoy the love I have for and in me.  They will love me, because I love me.

I have some really great friends in my life, and the reason I love them is because I see something in them that is beautiful.  I once told someone they were beautiful and I wasn’t talking about the color of their eyes or even the way they made me feel.  They were beautiful to me because I saw them loving themselves, enjoying what made them happy, and encouraging me to do the same by being themselves.  I sometimes saw that beauty so strong I become overwhelmed. I bathed in their waterfall.

Till next time,

~T.L. Gray

Categories: Musing, Writing | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

